top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBecky Friedenberg

More than Magic at Universal

I recently shared the incredibly magical time I had exploring the Wizarding World of Harry Potter. But… don’t tell anyone… that was not even my favorite part of the day at Universal Studios or Islands of Adventure. 


If you want a healthy dose of millennial nostalgia, exit Hogsmeade over the bridge and through the palm trees. Follow the majestic musical chords to… Jurassic Park! 



I think I could have spent half of my day exploring all that Jurassic Park has to offer. Arguably the best thrill coaster, the Velocicoaster, (head to head with Hagrid’s Motorbike) can be found here alongside the nostalgic favorite: Jurassic Park River Adventure. Enjoy authentic footage from the ‘90s while you wait for your river tour, and take in the moment when the gates open and the theme song plays. 



The part that truly blew my mind was the interaction with REAL dinosaurs! I mean… obviously they are not real, but they sure are convincing, and my inner child was in awe. Wandering back from a bathroom, I saw a Jurassic Park team member quietly crouched near some bushes trying to catch an escaped tiny dino (I believe a Compsognathus?). If you see her, be sure to ask and engage with her! She’ll tell you all about them. I then found a group of kids surrounding another dinosaur handler with a baby triceratops!! This little critter was moving around in her arms and the children were welcome to ask questions about it and pet it. For me, this experience is hard to top. 


Later, my travel buddy and I waited in line at Raptor Encounter to meet the velociraptor, named Blue, from Jurassic World. We just missed him, but we met baby velociraptor Sierra and her handler (the same team member who was crouched in the bushes). As part of the “Raptor Immersion Program,” they are getting the young ones used to human interaction. The team member is truly convincing, with true enthusiasm for her job and knowledge of raptors. She even had a clicker to get the baby raptor’s attention and to train and reward her. 



There are more educational experiences in the Jurassic Park Discovery Center to check out with the kiddos (or for your own Jurassic Park-loving heart), and the Pteranodon Flyers ride is a sweet little thrill for the littles. 


Clearly, my heart swelled in Jurassic World. But where can you go to feel your heart grow three sizes?


Seuss Landing!!!



It’s. A. Vibe. A complete 180° from Jurassic Park, full of bright colors, shapes, and wordplay. 



While Seuss Landing is full of rides for the littlests Whos in your family, it is still a must see for all ages. The whimsical details will have you looking through every nook and cranny. Some of my favorites are the house of the Once-ler and the Lorax forest, character interactions at Oh! The Stories You’ll Hear, and meeting the Grinch himself! Seuss Landings is a great spot to hit mid-day when your family can use a change of pace and a little rest.



Right now at Seuss Landing you can enjoy the season with the Grinchmas Celebration where you can mingle with Whos from Whoville doing their holiday shopping, and catch the Grinchmas Who-liday Spectacular show!


Until next time...


Your Bibbidi Bobbidi Bestie,

Becky

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page