top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBecky Friedenberg

Williamsburg, VA: My Second-Favorite Family Destination

As a kid, I was lucky to have parents who prioritized family vacations for making memories and breaking up the monotony of work and school. Those years when Walt Disney World (my first-favorite family destination) was out of reach, we frequently took a short road trip from the Philadelphia suburbs to Williamsburg, Virginia. I brought my own family to Williamsburg for the first time, and it still holds real estate in my heart for one of my favorite places, even as an adult!


Family Fun at Busch Gardens Williamsburg


Did you know that Busch Gardens Williamsburg has been voted “Most Beautiful Amusement Park” for 35 years in a row (per the National Amusement Park Historical Association - I’m a nerd). The gorgeous park’s theme is old-world Europe with sections modeling Italy, France, England, Scotland, Ireland, and Germany with a separate section devoted to Oktoberfest. It is Busch Gardens after all. 


Our first stop was the Loch Ness Monster in Scotland. This was my very first upside-down rollercoaster when I was 6 years old, so it was steeped in nostalgia for me and I was very excited for my kids to experience it too. My nostalgic love for this coaster was validated while we were waiting in line and I learned it’s the world's first interlocking loop rollercoaster and it has been designated as an historic Landmark coaster. My kids gave it an enthusiastic 2 thumbs up!

I was sad to learn that my next favorite childhood coaster, The Big Bad Wolf, no longer exists. However, Germany has a newer (to me) coaster called Verbolten, which is an autobahn race through the Black Forest. The theming on this ride blew my mind, and that is saying something for a Disney fanatic! Busch Gardens has a number of other thrilling roller coasters as well. 


You will find cleverly themed classic rides for younger riders like Da Vinci’s Flying Machine, Turkish Delight (tea cups), The Battering Ram (pirate ship), and Le Catapult (scrambler).

Keep an eye out for Busch Gardens’ Clydesdale horses and wolf sanctuary while you’re there for an educational break.

Water Country USA


If you are visiting during the hot, humid summer months, take advantage of a day trip to Water Country USA. This is a sister-park to Busch Gardens, and you can get discounted multi-park tickets! The water park is big, clean, and full of fun thrills for all ages. It’s one of my favorite water parks (and a top 10 Reader’s Choice Award-winner). 


Colonial Williamsburg


My favorite American Girl doll was Felicity, and I love Colonial Williamsburg. This could certainly become a boring day for the kids if you don’t look for the interesting nooks and crannies of the reenacted town. Weave historical candies and treats from the little historical shops throughout this educational day. Tours of the Governor's Palace and lessons in wig-making can be broken up with a horse carriage ride (make an advanced reservation) or a run through a garden maze. Lean into your kids’ interests! You can learn about colonial fashions, instruments, the Revolutionary war and musket demonstrations, gardening, and there are even archeological digs on-site! I really appreciated how lessons have evolved over the years to include different cultures and racial history in the US. Colonial Williamsburg’s mission is “So that the future may learn from the past.”




Your family could enjoy a long weekend in Williamsburg or you could easily stretch it into a week with an extra visit to the amusement parks and excursions to Jamestown, Yorktown, and the beach.


Ask your Team Fairy Godmother travel agent about this family-friendly getaway! 


Your Bibbidi Bobbidi Bestie,

Becky


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page